Go Back   Discuss Fitness > Nutrition and Supplementation > Diet and Nutrition

Diet and Nutrition Discuss the best diets for both losing and gaining weight. Sub forum: Related Recipes

Old 13-May-04, 02:58 AM   #1
fordlife

Cereal--What are Good for You? I eat Plain Corn Flakes

Alirhgt People, I have been eating my plain corn flakes for a few months and figured they were good for me. Are they? They do have 24g of carbs and some sugar but according to the nutriton link I found here, corn flakes are good.

I sometimes use a protien shake blended with ice, fat free milk and a banana and poor that over the corn flakes as a meal---very good.

Anyway, I work at a grocery store and can get a deal on some Kellogg's cereal....mainly All Bran, Mueslix, Complete, Craclin Oat Bran, and Gronola with raisins. Mueslix and Gronola both have 40g of carbs so I thought I would pass on those. I was considering All Bran over my corn flakes because I heard the wheat will be better for me in loosing fat.

I also eat oatmeal. Mix it with water and nuke it for 2 minutes and add raisins and atkins 0 cal syrup.

Thanks
RYan

ps. the deal is like 12 boxes for $4.00. Thats pretty good.
fordlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-May-04, 07:20 AM   #2
CliffStamp

Dry cereals like those in the above are full of anti-nutrients especially the high bran ones, fortified with artificial vitamins, missing the cofactors, and subjected to high temperatures and pressures in the various manufacturing processes which radically denature the proteins. No they are not good for you, but neither is microwaving oatmeal. Of course you can pick between the lesser of two evils, Special K is less bad for you than Captain Crunch.

-Cliff
CliffStamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-May-04, 08:03 AM   #3
trHawT

Don't Corn Flakes spike insulin like CRAZY? lol High on the GI scale?
Not a good idea. Try All Bran.