Go Back   Discuss Fitness > Bodybuilding > General Bodybuilding

General Bodybuilding Forum for intermediate and experienced bodybuilders to learn and give advice.

Old 04-Jan-07, 11:45 PM   #1
MAURER
Dr. Huge

Send a message via AIM to MAURER

Career In Training

Hey guys, I'm a freshman in college and I really would like to be a personal trainer, athletic trainer, or something along those lines. I was wondering if anybody on here has pursued a similar career and how they recommend I go about being successful.
MAURER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Jan-07, 08:44 AM   #2
maverick
missin the gym

MostMuscle is currently a trainer, I think SarahPT is as well. You migh want to ask them specifically. There's probably also posts on this site about this exact subject if you search.
maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Jan-07, 09:27 AM   #3
Eric_B

As long as you are first-aid/cpr certified, you can take the American Council on Exercise (ACE) Personal Training certification test. The same prerequisites apply for the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) Personal Training test. MostMuscle recommended the NCSA-PT cert when I asked him. If you are looking for part-time work during college, I think either of them would be acceptable. There are more prestigious certifications, but they are not available until you earn a degree in the exercise sciences.
Current Bodyweight: 158 lbs.
Eric_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Jan-07, 10:47 AM   #4
The Flash